sitespeedtecno.blogg.se

Split my passport for mac and windows
Split my passport for mac and windows








  1. #SPLIT MY PASSPORT FOR MAC AND WINDOWS SERIAL#
  2. #SPLIT MY PASSPORT FOR MAC AND WINDOWS SKIN#
  3. #SPLIT MY PASSPORT FOR MAC AND WINDOWS PORTABLE#
  4. #SPLIT MY PASSPORT FOR MAC AND WINDOWS SERIES#

Observant readers probably already know this, but Apple decided to eliminate FireWire ports from the newest MacBooks … meaning that current MacBook owners will only be able to use the My Passport Studio via the slower USB connection.

split my passport for mac and windows

In terms of speed, the My Passport Studio delivers similar performance to other USB and FireWire external hard drives.

#SPLIT MY PASSPORT FOR MAC AND WINDOWS PORTABLE#

That might not be as impressive as a one terabyte desktop hard drive, but that’s a lot of storage for a portable hard drive. With the maximum capacity 500GB drive, that translates to just under 150,000 high resolution digital photos (saved as compressed JPEGs) or approximately 220 hours of DVD quality video. The My Passport Studio drives are available in two capacities at the time of this writing: 320GB ($199.99) and 500GB ($249.99). Western Digital also includes three cables for connecting the My Passport Studio to either a Mac or PC. The LED indicators also serve as standard activity indicators: Appearance Because this drive is preformatted and contains software, utilities and user manuals, the first section is illuminated upon installation. Each section represents approximately 25 percent of drive capacity. The Capacity Gauge consists of four sections which illuminate left to right to indicate space used on the drive during power-on state. The capacity gauge enables users to know at a glance how much space is available on the drive.

#SPLIT MY PASSPORT FOR MAC AND WINDOWS SERIES#

In addition, the small blue LED ring (which looks like a miniaturized version of the LED ring in the MyBook) has been replaced in favor of a series of four LED indicators that also serve as the new “capacity gauge.” One of my favorite improvements over the design of the previous My Passport series is that the small rubberized flap that opens to reveal the mini-USB port has been replaced with a sliding panel that protects the mini-USB port and FireWire 800 port while traveling. At the time of this writing the My Passport Studio is only available in one colors (titanium) but Western Digital does offer their other My Passport series drives in multiple color choices. On one hand, it’s just a rounded box, but look a little closer at the design and you might just have to call it sexy.

split my passport for mac and windows

To get to the point, Western Digital continues to make some of the best looking external notebook hard drives we’ve seen.

#SPLIT MY PASSPORT FOR MAC AND WINDOWS SERIAL#

The only thing to see on the bottom of the My Passport Studio is a small white sticker containing the product information, such as the serial number, model number, and country of manufacture. The bottom is likewise simple in design, with four rubberized feet like those found on earlier models. The enclosure is very sleek and stylish with a minimalistic design and a subtle Western Digital “WD” logo. The matte finish on the My Passport Studio and My Passport Elite not only makes it easier to grip the drive, but it looks cleaner because it doesn’t show off your fingerprints.

#SPLIT MY PASSPORT FOR MAC AND WINDOWS SKIN#

I’ve dropped my old My Passport drives several times because of the glossy finish on those drives is almost “slippery” after some oil from your skin is applied to the surface.

split my passport for mac and windows

A common criticism users had with the older Passports was the glossy finish was a magnet for fingerprints and made it difficult to securely hold the drive in your hand. Since the dimensions of the My Passport Studio are almost identical to the older Passports there wasn’t much to catch my eye until I touched the new “soft-touch” finish on the Passport Elite. While the size and shape are impressive, the single design element that impressed me was the finish.

  • FireWire 800 to FireWire 400 cable length: 11″.
  • split my passport for mac and windows

  • USB cable (USB-A to mini-USB) length: 11″.
  • The biggest difference is that the My Passport Studio has one mini USB port and one FireWire 800 port instead of just one mini USB port. In terms of the basic external shape and dimensions the My Passport Studio is is almost identical to the My Passport Elite that we reviewed earlier this year. Did Western Digital improve on an already popular design? Is this drive even better if you’re using a new MacBook? Let’s take a look. While I like the older My Passports, they are not without their flaws. All of my external notebook drives are earlier versions of the Western Digital My Passport series. I own a half dozen 3.5″ hard drives in external USB enclosures and 2.5″ notebook hard drives in external USB enclosures for a total of almost three terabytes of external storage. I am no stranger to external hard drives.










    Split my passport for mac and windows